It was a Man City double last night as Kevin De Bruyne and Phil Foden picked up both the PFA Player and Young Player at the end-of-season awards!

The PFA awards took place last night, where the PFA Player and PFA Young Player of the year would be announced.

This is seen as the biggest award a player in England can win, as it’s voted for by all other players in the Premier League.

Some of the best players in the world have won these awards, with Cristiano Ronaldo even winning both in 2006/07.

Last year Kevin De Bruyne won the PFA Player Of The Year award, whilst Trent Alexander-Arnold took home the Young Player award.

De Bruyne Wins Back To Back Awards

For the majority of this season, Man United‘s Bruno Fernandes was the bookie’s favourite to win this award.

He had a fantastic season personally, scoring 18 goals and getting 12 assists. However, he didn’t end the season as well and Ruben Dias then became the favourite.

He has had a brilliant debut season in the Premier League, he conceded just 21 goals in 32 games, keeping 15 clean sheets along the way. Dias would have been a fantastic choice and probably a more worthy recipient.

To many people’s surprise though, it was last year’s winner Kevin De Bruyne who picked up this season’s award.

There is no debating that on his day, De Bruyne is the best player in the league. However, he has only played 25 games this season and hasn’t always been at his very best, getting just three goals and two assists since the turn of the year.

De Bruyne did start the 20/21 season very well though. His best performance was away to Chelsea when he had to fill in as a false nine and did it fantastically getting a goal and assist.

By winning the award back to back, De Bruyne becomes only the third player to retain the PFA Player Of The Year award, along with Cristiano Ronaldo and Thierry Henry.

Foden Wins His First PFA Award

In what will surely be his first of many awards in the years to come, Phil Foden was crowned the Young PFA Player Of The Year.

This has been Fodens breakthrough year in which he has now fully established himself as a first-team player at Man City.

Foden played 28 games this season in the league, with nine goals and five assists to his name.

We expect Foden to follow in the footsteps of Rooney, Ronaldo, Hazard, and Bale to name a few, and go on to win the PFA Player Of The Year after winning Young Player.

FansBet Bonus


Welcome Offer

100% UP TO €100

Valid on your first deposit; Use bonus code SPORTS; Wager the bonus amount 12x; 1.8 minimum odds; Terms apply; 18+ #ad. Please bet responsibly.